Customer Service Awards / Cittaslow Awards 2014

Posted on May 1, 2014

The SABA Customer Service Awards in conjunction with the Cittaslow Awards was held at the South Lakes Golf Club on Thursday April 10th. It was an evening of recognition given for the excellence in customer service that the Alexandrina region displays.

Each year the voting boxes are set out and the on line voting is open to receive nomination for three categories: Best Individual, Best Business and Special Community Awards. The nominations are collected and collated which takes a great deal of time.  Once again this year Robyn Pike from Priceline Pharmacy was the co-ordinator, which made Priceline ineligible for the awards. Following the collation of the information after the nomination closing date, the mystery shoppers and investigators go into action to decide on the winner(s) for the year.

South Lakes Golf Club was again an ideal venue for the evening - the tables set beautifully with both SABA and Cittaslow colours being used tastefully. The Birdie Bistro produced a lovely meal and were very efficient in the serving of meals.  South Lakes Golf Club and the Birdie Bistro staff were outstanding in the support of the evening and ensured the continued flow of events.

SABA President Andrew Stewart, welcomed everyone to the function and shared the format for the evening.  Andrew Stewart then passed over to John Clark who was Master of Ceremony for the evening.  Welcome was made to Adrian Pederick Member for Hammond, Councillors Keith Parkes, Margaret Gardiner and Jim Davis.  Apologies were received from Mayor Kim McHugh, Michael Pengilly (Member for Finniss), Cr Stanley –Murray and Tom Chapman.   

The evening got underway with the Cittaslow Awards, which saw Lyn Clark share the efforts of the worthy recipients.  Certificates were awarded to: Alexandrina Council Obesity Prevention and Living Program,  Armfield Slip Goolwa,  Bombora @ Goolwa Beach Team, John Carter, Create & Connect, Brian Dugmore, Goolwa & District Community Bank, Goolwa History  Room, Vicki Matchett, Anthony Presgrave and Sand Writers Goolwa. Margaret Gardiner congratulated each recipient and presented their certificates.

The next Category was the Special Community Awards.  These awards recognise the contributions that these individuals have contributed to their chosen club or the community. These awards are from nominations and information contributed by the public.  Understandably there are lots of people that contribute in many ways so this is why it’s important for the public to take time to nominate these special people. The worthy recipients of the Community Awards were: Fred Brehin - Over 20 years of service and support to the South Coast State Emergency Service; Lyn Clark - Recognition of the contribution in the development  of  Cittaslow, SABA and other community involvements;  Dee-Anne Farrow - Recognition for the ongoing success and support  of  Goolwa Alive and the Hindmarsh Island Land Care Group;  Goolwa & District Community Bank- Supporting the Local community by donating nearly $90,000 back to the community;   David Hamilton- The  ongoing  contribution and support to the Goolwa Netball Club;  John Hurst- Involvement and contribution  to the Goolwa Surf Life Saving Club, being one of the first five people involved in the beginning of the Club and sponsoring  events such as ‘The Wooden Boat Festival’ and  fireworks for The Goolwa Christmas Pageant.   The awards were presented by Keith Parkes.

Karen Mitchell from Goolwa Fish Café spoke in support of Goolwa Alive 2014, encouraging the community to support this wonderful event that draws so much attention to Goolwa and encourages people to stay or have return trips to see our great region. 

Adrian Pederick shared a few words on his thoughts and views of Excellent Customer Service, the importance and benefits that come from this, and congratulated the Alexandrina region for showing such excellent service across so many and varied businesses.

 The next step saw the top five individual awards: Laura Lewis- About You Nails & Beauty; Deborah Reintjens- Cafe Lime; Haylee Liddle-Convenient Chef; Toni Felix- Goolwa Pharmacy; Kaye Gynell- Your Finishing Touch.  They all received a framed certificate awarded by Andrew Stewart.

This was followed by the top five Business awards: About You Nails & Beauty, Convenient Chef, Cotton Pins & Crafty Things, Goolwa Central Meats and Goolwa Fish Café. These businesses also received framed certificates that were awarded by Jim Davis.

The overall winners were:                 

Best Business Award:   Convenient Chef

Best Individual Award:  Haylee Liddle- Convenient Chef AND

Laura Lewis – About You Nails & Beauty                  

The winners were awarded with a beautiful trophy presented by Adrian Pederick.

An enjoyable night was had by all, with many lovely comments passed on after the evening.

Convenient Chef

Convenient Chef

Riverport Vets

Your Finishing Touch

Goolwa Central Meats

Laura Lewis

Haylee Liddel

Tracy Pedler

Greg Johnston Insurance Services

Community Group

Goolwa Fish Cafe

D&D Mechanical

Cotton Pins & Crafty Things

Australia Post Goolwa

About Print

Toni Felix

Deborah Reintjens

Fred Brehin

Carol Gaston

Lyn Clark

Kaye Gynell

John Hurst

Dee-Ann Farrow

David Hamilton

President Andrew Stewart and CSA Coordinator Robyn Pike